Gap Year Resources

This is a sampling of programs and resources related to gap year (time between graduating from undergraduate studies and graduate school or a career path). Please visit us for additional resources and advising on how to best plan your gap year experience.

GENERAL RESOURCES
Gap Work: http://www.gapwork.com/
The Gap Year: http://www.gapyear.com/
Idealist: http://www.idealist.org/
Transitions Abroad: http://www.transitionsabroad.com/
Youth Service America: http://servenet.org/

SERVICE CORPS
These programs provide training to serve in a specific capacity and typically require a minimum commitment of 1-2 years and include modest compensation to cover living costs.

DOMESTIC
General
AmeriCorps State and National: http://www.americorps.gov/
AmeriCorps VISTA: http://www.americorps.gov/about/programs/vista.asp
AmeriCorps NCCC: http://www.americorps.gov/about/programs/nccc.asp
Green Corps: http://www.greencorps.org/
Public Allies: http://www.publicallies.org/

Health/Research
Center for Disease Control Fellowship Programs: http://www.cdc.gov/Fellowships/
Health Corps: http://www.healthcorps.org
National Institute of Health Post-Baccalaureate Programs: https://www.training.nih.gov/programs/

Public Service/Government
Capital Fellows Program: http://www.csus.edu/calst/programs/
City Hall Fellows: http://www.cityhallfellows.org/
Congressional Hunger Fellows: http://www.hungercenter.org/fellowships/
CORO Fellows in Public Affairs: http://www.coro.org/

Teaching/Education
City Year: http://www.cityyear.org/
Match Corp: http://matcheducation.org/
NYC Teaching Fellows: https://www.nycteachingfellows.org/
Teach for America: http://www.teachforamerica.org/

INTERNATIONAL
General
Global Health Corps: http://ghcorps.org/
Peace Corps: http://www.peacecorps.gov/

Teaching/Education
Dave’s ESL Café: http://www.eslcafe.org/
Educational Services International: http://www.edservit.com
English Program in Korea: http://www.epik.go.kr/
InterExchange: http://www.interexchange.org/
The Japan Exchange and Teaching Program (JET): http://www.us.emb-japan.go.jp/JET/
Spanish Government’s Teaching Assistant Program: http://www.mepsyd.es/
Teach for China: http://www.tfchina.org/
WorldTeach: http://www.worldteach.org/

FAITH-BASED
AVODAH Jewish Service Corps: http://www.avodah.net/
Catholic Volunteer Network: https://catholicvolunteernetwork.org/
Jesuit Volunteer Corps: http://www.jesuitvolunteers.org/
Lutheran Volunteer Corps: http://www.lutheranvolunteercorps.org/
Vincentian Service Corps: http://www.vscorps.org/

INTERNATIONAL VOLUNTEERING
May or may not include a program fee.
Amigos de las Americas: http://www.amigoslink.org
Global Routes: http://www.globalroutes.org/
Global Service Corps: http://www.globalservicecorps.org/
Global Volunteer Network: http://www.globalvolunteernetwork.org/
Projects Abroad: http://www.projects-abroad.org/
United Nations Volunteers: http://unv.org/
Volunteers for Peace: http://www.vfp.org/
World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms: http://www.wwoof.org/

INTERNATIONAL INTERNSHIPS or JOBS
Organizations assist in finding short-term work abroad for a fee.
AIESEC: http://www.aiesec.org/
BUNAC: http://www.bunac.org/
Center on International Educational Exchange (CIEE): http://www.ciee.org
International Development Jobs: http://www.devnetjobs.org/
Opportunity Knocks: http://www.opportunityknocks.org/

INTERNSHIPS
Government internships for recent graduates: https://www.usajobs.gov/Help/working-in-government/unique-hiring-paths/students/
Internships.com: http://www.internships.com/
One Day One Internship: http://www.onedayoneinternship.com/
Student Conservation Association: http://www.vfp.org/